Development of a Beam line at PETRA III and assured access to all the PETRA III Beam lines and FLASH facility at DESY, Hamburg, Germany

Under the auspice of the Nano Mission Council, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India with Prof. C.N.R. Rao as the Chairman, Nano Mission Council a major initiative has been taken for the Synchrotron community of India. A ever growing community of Synchrotron users have now the possibility of doing their experiments on all the beam lines of PETRA III and FLASH facility at DESY, Hamburg, Germany under the cooperation agreement signed by the heads of the country, the Chancellor of Germany, Dr. Angela Merkel and Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh along with the Directors of Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP), India and Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Germany, Professor Milan K. Sanyal and Professor Helmut Dosch, respectively, in Delhi on 31 May, 2011. SINP used to be the nodal Institute for developing participation of Indian scientists in this major India-German collaboration project, funded by the Department of Science and Technology, India. From April 1, 2015, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore will be the nodal Institute. This initiative was started in 2009 by Professor C. N. R. Rao, then scientific advisor of the Indian Prime Minister.