About India@DESY

In presence of the Chancellor of Germany, Dr. Angela Merkel and Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh, the Directors of Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP), India and Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Germany, Professor Milan K. Sanyal and Professor Helmut Dosch, respectively, signed one of the four major Cooperation Agreements in Delhi on 31 May, 2011. This Agreement will enable Indian scientists to access world’s best high-energy synchrotron light source PETRA-III and free electron laser source FLASH at DESY. DESY’s light sources PETRA III and FLASH offer unique research opportunities and a great potential for innovative experiments. SINP will be the nodal Institute for developing participation of Indian scientists in this major India-German collaboration project, funded by the Department of Science and Technology, India. This initiative was started in 2009 by Professor C. N. R. Rao, the scientific advisor of the Indian Prime Minister. India will contribute 14 million Euros for the construction and operation of a beamline in one of the PETRA III extensions and in return will get access to 1.3 beamline-year time across the entire facility.

The project is now past its initial formative phase and has entered a phase wherein a large number of users will have to be facilitated to utilize various beam lines of PETRA III. It was decided by the Secretary, DST and the Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission in the month of March 2015 to shift this project to the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Resarch, Bangalore with effect from April 01, 2015.