Awards/fellowships received:



  Honorary Doctorate (Honoris Causa) D. Litt from the VSK University, Bellary from Governor of Karnataka, Mar, 2016

· Dr. Raja Ramanna Karnataka State Award for Senior Scientists, from Karnataka State Council for Science and Technology, Jan 2013.

‘MRSI-ICSC Superconductivity and Materials Science Annual Prize’, Feb 2012, presented at AGM at Patiala, Feb: 2012.

 Prof CNR Rao Oratory Award, Bengaluru, 2011

RAK-CAM, UAE International Senior Research Fellowship 2010-2013

 MRSI-Medal Lecture Award presented at the AGM-2006, Lucknow, 13th Feb. 2006.

 Young Scientist Award (CSIR), 28- Sept.1992, for Physical Sciences by President of India

 Outstanding Scientist Award (NPL), Sept. 2004

National Merit Scholarship, 1972   




Fellowships and Scholarships received:




  • UNIDO/UNDP fellowship at NIST, USA (1987)
  • UNIDO/UNDP fellowship at Univ. of Tohoku, Japan (1994).        
  •   BOYSCAST fellowship by DST, New Delhi at Univ. of Rutgers, USA, (1990-91)
  •   Rutgers Univ. Post Doctoral Fellowship (1991-92). 
  •   Commonwealth Postdoctoral Fellow by ACU, London at Univ. of Sussex, UK, (1983-94).                      
  • Awarded merit promotion from Scientist B to C (1989), at National Physical Laboratory. 
  • CSIR JRF, SRF & PDF fellowships for PhD and work (1979-83).
  • National Merit Scholarship at the Secondary School Leaving Certificate, (1972).







   Last modified date: 06-05-2016