Dates: December 6-10, 2021
A Hybrid Event


Link to join International Winter School 2021

Kindly download the CISCO webex app in advance to avoid any technical glitch ( on your laptop/mobile to join an online session of the Intl. Winter School 2021.

Event Address:Click here

Event Number: 2517 293 0513

Event Password: jnc1234

09:20am - 09:30am Inaugural Session
Session 1 chair : G U Kulkarni
09:30am - 10:30am Sir A K Cheetham
Recent Developments in Hybrid Perovskite Halides

Session 2 Chair : Tapas K Maji
10:30am - 11:30am Susumu Kitagawa
Past, Present and Future of Porous Coordination Polymers (PCPs) / Metal-Organic frameworks (MOFs)
11:30am - 12:00noon Break
12:00noon-01:00pm S Sampath
Interfaces in Electrochemistry
01:00pm - 02:00pm Break
Session 3 Chair : A Sundaresan
02:00pm - 03:00pm R S Swathi
A journey towards the Heaven of Chemical Fidelity of Intermolecular Force Fields
03:00pm - 04:00pm J Paul Attfield
New Materials from High Pressure
04:00pm - 04:30pm Break
04:30pm - 05:30pm Aron Walsh
Beyond Silicon: Accelerated Discovery of Sustainable Solar Energy Materials
05:30pm - 07:30pm POSTER SESSION

Session 4 chair : Ranjan Datta
09:30am - 10:30am Kristin Persson
The Era of Data-Driven Materials Innovation and Design
10:30am - 11:30am D D Sarma
In Search of Quantum Spin Liquids
11:30am - 12:00noon Break
12:00noon - 01:00pm S Balasubramanian
Theory Meets Experiments on Gas Adsorption in Porous Materials: Thermodynamics, Dynamics, Kinetics and Beyond
01:00pm - 02:00pm Break
Session 5 Chair : Bani K Sarma
02:00pm - 03:00pm Tanusri Saha-Dasgupta
Computer Predictions on Hybrod Organic-Inorganic Perovskites
Session 6 Chair : M Eswaramoorthy
03:00pm - 04:00pm

Sheikh Saqr Materials Lecture

Judith Driscoll
Challenges and Successes in Transalting The Huge Promise of Functional Oxides Into Useful Energy Devices
04:00pm - 04:30pm Break
04:30pm - 06:30pm POSTER SESSION

Session 7 chair : Sridhar Rajaram
09:30am - 10:30am Raphaele Clement
Solid-state NMR insights into functional materials
10:30am - 11:30am Arindam Ghosh
Correlation effects and Thermoelectricity in twisted bilayer graphene
11:30am - 12:00noon Break
12:00noon - 01:00pm R Murugavel
Enriching single-ion magnetism: Importance of Symmetry
01:00pm - 02:00pm Break
Session 8 Chair : Kanishka Biswas
02:00pm - 03:00pm Ranjani Viswanatha
The story of manganese in quantum dots
03:00pm - 04:00pm Matt Rosseinsky
Design and Discovery of Functional Materials - Synthesis, Structure, Computation and Machine Learning
04:00pm - 04:30pm Break
Session 9 Chair : Premkumar S
04:30pm - 05:30pm Clare Grey
Next generation batteries: new operando methods and new processes
05:30pm - 06:30pm R Vaidhyanathan
Exploring COFs for Lightweight and Fast Charging Storage
Session 10 Chair : Bivas Saha
07:30pm - 08:30pm Mircea Dinca
Surprising Properties of 2D Metal-Organic Frameworks

Session 11 chair : K S Narayan
09:30am - 10:30am Timothy S Fisher
Zero-carbon energy and nano materials at scale: Solar-thermal synthesis of graphitic carbon and hydrogen via methane decomposition
10:30am - 11:30am Rajesh Ganapathy
Colloidal Epitaxy
11:30am - 12:00noon Break
12:00noon - 01:00pm U Ramamurty
Statistics and activation parameters of the elastic-plastic transition in crystals
01:00pm - 02:00pm Break
Session 12 Chair : N S Vidhyadhiraja
02:00pm - 03:00pm Bettina Lotsch
Real structure effects and light storage in molecular frameworks
03:00pm - 04:00pm Andrew Goodwin
Diffuse scattering and its analysis
Session 13 Chair : J Paul Attfield
08:00pm - 10:30pm Felicitation of Prof. A K Cheetham

Session 14 chair : Sebastian C Peter
09:30am - 10:30am Ram Seshadri
Refractory Metal Oxide Electrodes for Lithium-Ion Batteries
10:30am - 11:30am T Govindaraju
CDP Architectonics: Upcycling Cyclic Dipeptide
11:30am - 12:00noon Break
12:00noon - 01:00pm Shobhana Narasimhan
Being a Little Bad: Defects in 2D Materials
01:00pm - 02:00pm Break
Session 15 Chair : Sarit S Agasti
02:00pm - 03:00pm K George Thomas
Playing with Excitons in Semiconductor Quantum Dots
03:00pm - 04:00pm Russell Morris
Developing Biological Applications of MOFs
04:00pm - 04:30pm Break
Session 16 Chair : Subir K Das
04:30pm - 05:30pm Richard Catlow
Catalysis For Sustainable Chemicals and Fuels
05:30pm Concluding Session