Honorary Professors

Sl. No. Name Affiliation and Email Photo
1.  Prof. T.K. Chandrashekar

Senior Professor, School of Chemical Sciences, NISER

Email: tkc@iitk.ac.in

Prof. Chandrashekar is an inorganic chemist credited with the discovery of expanded porphyrins based macrocyclic systems which had the ability to bind and transport anions and transition metal cations.  He was former Secretary, SERB and Founder Director, NISER, Bhubaneswar.

2. Prof. Gagandeep Kang, FRS

Professor of Microbiology,
The Wellcome Trust Research Laboratory,
Division of Gastrointestinal Sciences, Christian Medical College, Vellore

Email: gkang@cmcvellore.ac.in

Professor at Wellcome Trust Research Laboratory, and the Division of Gastrointestinal Sciences at the Christian Medical College (CMC) in Vellore.  Professor Kang conducts inter-disciplinary research on enteric infections and child health. She is a member of many WHO advisory committees and presently the vice-Chair of the Board of Coalition of Epidemic Preparedness Innovations and chairs the Immunization Technical Advisory Group for the WHO’s Southeast Asian Region.

3.  Prof. T.V. Ramakrishnan, FRS

Emeritus Professor, Department of Physics
Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

Email: tvrama2002@yahoo.co.in

Prof Ramakrishnan, is one of the best-known Physicists of India, who has   made remarkable contributions ranging from the leadership of the Indian Academy of Sciences, building of world-class group in condensed matter physics at IISc to mentoring a number of researchers across the world. He has been closely associated with JNCASR since inception.

4.  Prof. D D Sarma

Honorary Professor,
Solid State & Structural
Chemistry Dept IISc, Bengaluru

Email: sarma@iisc.ac.in

Renowned Solid State Structural Chemist, known for his research in the fields of Solid State Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Science, Prof Sarma is Honorary Professor at SSCU, IISc.   Served as Adjunct Professor at IISER, Kolkata, IACS, Kolkata and TIFR, Mumbai.  Presently, he is Eminent Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Advanced Materials of IACS, Kolkata

5.   Prof. A.K. Sood, FRS

Principal Scientific Advisor, Govt. of India.

Email: asood1951@gmail.com

Prof. Sood is a distinguished Physicist, researcher known for his pioneering research findings on graphene and nanotechnology. He is credited with many path breaking findings and invention.  Prof Sood is a Distinguished Honorary Professor of Physics at IISc, Bengaluru. He is presently the Principal Scientific Advisor to Govt. of India.