Honorary Professors

Sl. No. Name Affiliation and Email Photo
1. Prof. Gagandeep Kang, FRS

Professor of Microbiology,
The Wellcome Trust Research Laboratory,
Division of Gastrointestinal Sciences, Christian Medical College, Vellore

Email: gkang@cmcvellore.ac.in

Professor at Wellcome Trust Research Laboratory, and the Division of Gastrointestinal Sciences at the Christian Medical College (CMC) in Vellore.  Professor Kang conducts inter-disciplinary research on enteric infections and child health. She is a member of many WHO advisory committees and presently the vice-Chair of the Board of Coalition of Epidemic Preparedness Innovations and chairs the Immunization Technical Advisory Group for the WHO’s Southeast Asian Region.

2.  Prof. T.V. Ramakrishnan, FRS

Emeritus Professor, Department of Physics
Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

Email: tvrama2002@yahoo.co.in

Prof Ramakrishnan, is one of the best-known Physicists of India, who has   made remarkable contributions ranging from the leadership of the Indian Academy of Sciences, building of world-class group in condensed matter physics at IISc to mentoring a number of researchers across the world. He has been closely associated with JNCASR since inception.

3.  Prof. D D Sarma

Honorary Professor,
Solid State & Structural
Chemistry Dept IISc, Bengaluru

Email: sarma@iisc.ac.in

Renowned Solid State Structural Chemist, known for his research in the fields of Solid State Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Condensed Matter Physics, Materials Science, Prof Sarma is Honorary Professor at SSCU, IISc.   Served as Adjunct Professor at IISER, Kolkata, IACS, Kolkata and TIFR, Mumbai.  Presently, he is Eminent Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Advanced Materials of IACS, Kolkata

4.   Prof. A.K. Sood, FRS

Principal Scientific Advisor, Govt. of India.

Email: asood1951@gmail.com

Prof. Sood is a distinguished Physicist, researcher known for his pioneering research findings on graphene and nanotechnology. He is credited with many path breaking findings and invention.  Prof Sood is a Distinguished Honorary Professor of Physics at IISc, Bengaluru. He is presently the Principal Scientific Advisor to Govt. of India. 

5. Prof. Milan Kumar Sanyal Prof. Milan Kumar Sanyal, FASc, FNA, FNASc, FTWAS 
Emeritus Professor,  Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata


6. Prof. A.K.Tyagi

Prof. A.K.Tyagi, FNASc, FASc, FNAE, FNA, FTWAS
Director, Chemistry Group, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) Mumbai

Dr. A. K. Tyagi, Director, Chemistry Group, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai is an acclaimed materials scientist with profound interest in solid state chemistry. His research encompasses functional materials, nanomaterials and nuclear materials. He has designed several unusual materials with superior functionalities through structure-property correlation concepts. He has made immense contributions to science popularization. He is also a Senior Professor at Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai.

7. Prof. V. Kumaran Prof. V. Kumaran, FASc, FNA, FNAE 
Department of Chemical Engineering, 
IISc, Bengaluru
8. Prof. P. Balaram Prof. P. Balaram, FNA, FNASc, FASc, DST, Year of Science Chair Professor, National Centre for Biological Sciences (NCBS) Bengaluru
9. Prof. Sampath S Prof. Sampath S., FNA, FNASc        
Department of Inorganic & Physical Chemistry IISc, Bengaluru
10. Prof. Russel Foster, FRS  Prof. Russell Foster, FRS 
Professor of Circadian Neuroscience & Head of Department of Ophthalmology University of Oxford
11. Prof. Shubha Tole Prof. Shubha Tole, FASc, FNA, FNASc
Department of Biological Sciences
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR)
12. Prof. Umesh Varshney

Prof. Umesh Varshney, FNA, FNASc, FTWAS 
J N Tata Chair Professor Department of Microbiology & Cell Biology, IISc, Bengaluru

13. Prof. Jayawant H. Arakeri

Prof. Jayawant H. Arakeri, FASc, FNAE

Department of Mechanical Engineering, IISc, Bengaluru

14. Prof. Raghavendra Gadagkar

Prof. Raghavendra Gadagkar, FASc, FNA,FNASc, FTWAS, 
DST Year of Science Chair Professor, Centre for Ecological Sciences,   IISc, Bengaluru