About TWAS

The World Academy of Science (TWAS) for the Advancement of Science in developing countries is an autonomous international organization founded in 1983 in Trieste, Italy, by a distinguished group of scientists from the developing world under the leadership of Noble laureate Abdus Salam of Pakistan. It was officially launched as the “Third World Academy of Sciences” by the Secretary General of the United Nations in 1985.

The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (UNESCO-TWAS) works to support sustainable prosperity through research, education, policyand diplomacy

TWAS was founded in 1983 by a distinguished group of scientists from the developing world,under the leadership of Pakistani physicist Abdus Salam, Nobel Prize winner in 1979. By the end of 2021, UNESCO-TWAS had more than 1,300 elected Fellows—11 of them Nobel laureates— representing 108 countries. The Academy is based in Trieste, Italy, on the campus of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP). TWAS, a programme unit of the United Nations Educational,  Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), receives its core funding from the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation. The Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA) provides essential funding for TWAS programmes. Through more than three decades, TWAS mission has remained consistent, namely, to:

  • Recognize, support and promote excellence in scientific research in the developing world
  • Respond to the needs of young scientists in countries that are lagging in science and technology
  • Promote South-South and South-North cooperation in science, technology and innovation, and
  • Encourage scientific research and sharing of experiences in solving major challenges faced by developing countries.

TWAS has established a few National Chapters in different countries. These Chapters meet to discuss issues of common concern including the role of sustainable development. The Chapters also enables scientists involved with TWAS Research Grants and Fellowship Programmes to link to their nation wider scientific communities.

TWAS has established 5 Regional Offices to enable to organise various programmes for the promotion of science in the developing worlds. These offices cover : (a) Latin American and Carribean region, (b) East and South East Asia and Pacific region, (c) Central and South Asia regions, (d)Arab region and (e) Sub Saharan African region.



About us

The TWAS Central and South Asia regional Partner (TWAS) was established at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre For Advanced Scientific Research, Jakkur, Bangalore, during 2003, by an Agreement between The Academy of Sciences for the Third World (TWAS), Trieste, Italy & Jawaharlal Nehru Centre For Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India.
The TWASCASAREP was established recognizing the importance of strengthening cooperation and reinforcing the impact of TWAS’s activities in Central and South Asia. The TWAS Regional partner shall organize periodic meetings of TWAS members, Symposia, conference, The TWASCASAREP has a dedicated website . The activities of TWASCASAREP shall be published in TWAS Newsletters.
The TWAS Central and South Asia regional Partner covers following 15 countries. Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, laJikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and a total of 296 fellows of TWAS.


The Academy of Sciences for The Developing World (hereinunder referred to as TWAS) and the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (herein under referred to as JNCASR), recognizing the importance of strengthening cooperation and reinforcing the impact of TWAS’s activities in Central and South Asia, hereby agree to the following;

1. ]NCASR shall host the TWAS by providing secretarial and administrative assistance and office space. It shall coordinate efforts to promote the activities of TWAS and its affiliated organizations in Central and South Asia region, including training fellowships, grants, awards, networks, as recommended in the Academy’s current and future strategic plans.

2. In particular, the Regional Partner shall:
(i) enhance the visibility of TWAS among young and promising scientists, policy —makers and media through, for example, the organization of public lectures, discussion meetings, television programmes and local newspapers /magazines;
(ii) identify eminent scientists in the region and nominate them for TWAS membership and awards;
(iii) assess the vitality and effectiveness of TWAS ‘s activities in the region;
(iv) organize activities in areas of science and technology of critical importance to the region;

3. Activities of Regional Partner shall include periodic meetings of TWAS members, TWAS symposia and lectures and the creation of a website to be linked to the TWAS homepage, Reports of activities of Regional Offices shall be published in the TWAS Newsletter and website.



Call for Nomination

    • Call for applications -TWAS Fellowships in Pakistan
      1. For the Postgraduate programme (Click here)
      2. For the for Postdoctoral programme (Click here)

Learning Material



Development, Formatting, Production of print-ready copies at ETU Education Technology Unit has developed and produced print-ready copies at ETU.

Books produced in English and Kannada are: Understanding Chemistry by Prof. C.N.R. Rao
Learning Science- Part 1 to 4 by Indumati Rao & C.N. R. Rao
Vignyana Kaliyona - Samputa 1 to Samputa 4 by Indumati Rao and C.N.R. Rao

Contact Information

Prof. M.R.S. Rao

Coordinator, TWAS-CASAREP

Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research,
Bangalore, India
Tel: +91-80-22082759
Fax: +91-80-22082766 / 22082768

E-mail: /