Endowment Lectures


National Prize for Research in Chemistry

The National Prize for Chemistry Research is instituted by C.N.R.Rao Education Foundation, This carries a cash prize and a citation will be given annually for those who are engaged in research on the Chemical Education and Chemical Sciences and recognition of significant contribution in this area. This prize is being administered by the JNCASR




A.V. Rama Rao Lecture Series (Instituted in the year 1999)

Alla Venkata Rama Rao, Chairman & Managing Director  is an Indian inventor and chemist known with over 35 years of experience in research and leadership, for his pioneering researches in the field of drug technology.  Prof. Rao was formerly Director of IICT.  He has developed over 50 drug technologies that have been commercialized by pharmaceutical industry. He is the founder of the A. V. Rama Rao Research Foundation,  He is a Fellow of in Science Academies and also  Fellow of TWAS.  Rama Rao is recipient of several awards including Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan of Govt. of India, for his extraordinary contributions to science and industry.

ISRO-Satish Dhawan Lecture (Instituted in the year 1999)

Satish Dhawan (2509.1920-03.01.2002) was an Indian mathematician and aerospace engineer, widely regarded as the father of experimental fluid dynamics research in India. He was one of the most eminent researchers in the field of turbulence and boundary layers, leading the successful and indigenous development of the Indian space programme. He is credited for setting up the first supersonic wind tunnel in India at IISc. He succeeded M. G. K. Menon, as the third chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in 1972. Following his death in 2002, the Indian satellite launch centre at Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh,  was renamed as the Prof. Satish Dhawan Space Centre

DAE-Raja Ramanna Lecture in Physics (Instituted in the year 1999)

Raja Ramanna (28/01/1925 – 24/09/ 2004) was an Indian physicist,  best known for his role in India's nuclear program during its early stages.  Ramanna directed India's nuclear program for more than four decades. Ramanna served as Director General of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and as scientific adviser to the Defence Minister of India in 2000. He was a member of the Defence Research & Development Service (DRDS). Ramanna also joined the International Atomic Energy Agency in 1984 where he served as the President of the 30th General Conference of the IAEA.  He was a recipient of Padma Vibhushan, India's second highest civilian decoration, in honour of his services for building  India's nuclear programme.   .Raja Ramanna was the Council Chair of JNCASR. 

Prof. C.N.R. Rao Oration Award (Instituted in the year 2000)

Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra Rao FRS, also known as C. N. R. Rao (born 30 June 1934), is an Indian chemist who has worked mainly in solid-state and structural chemistry. He has honorary doctorates from 60 universities from around the world, and has authored around 1,600 research publications and 51 books.  

After completing BSc from Mysore University at age seventeen, MSc (from BHU) at age nineteen, Prof. Rao obtained PhD from Purdue University at age twenty-four. He was the youngest lecturer when he joined the Indian Institute of Science in 1959.  After a transfer to Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, he returned to IISc, eventually becoming its Director from 1984 to 1994. He was Chair of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India during 1985 to 1989 and 2005 to 2014. He is the founder President of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research and  presently Director, International Centre for Materials Science (ICMS) located in JNCASR. 

Rao is a recipient of several distinguished honours and scientific awards including the Marlow Medal, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology, Hughes Medal, India Science Award, Dan David Prize, and Royal Medal. He also received Padma Shri and Padma Vibhushan from Government of India. Prof Rao received  Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award in India,  in the year 2014, making him the third scientist after C.V. Raman and A. P. J. Abdul Kalam to receive the award.   

RamalingaswamI Lecture Series (Instituted in the year 2001)

Vulimiri Ramalingaswami (8/08/1921 – 28/05/2001) was one of the outstanding biomedical scientists of our country.   Ramalingaswami richly contributed to the human nutrition disorders including protein energy malnutrition and micronutrient deficiency. He was regarded a teacher of international repute in the areas of nutritional deficiency.  His work on liver disorder and cardiovascular disease are well known and recognized.  He was  the Director of All India Institute of Medical Sciences and later on Director General of Indian Council of Medical Research and President of the Indian National Science Academy. He has been honoured with Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award.[4] by Council of Scientific and Industrial Research in 1967 and Padma Shri in 1969, Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan by Government of India,[5] KK Birla National Award, and Basanti Devi Amirchand Prize (ICMR) in 1966. Leon Bernard Foundation Award[6] was presented to him by Sir Harold Walter, President of the 1976 World Health Assembly.